Tags

, , , , ,

This month the Nation Parks Service of the USA celebrates 100 years. So, I thought the next trip down memory lane ought to be about the first big trip “the girls” took in 2012. To set this all up here’s a little bit more about the National Parks…

Huzzah! WooHoo!

The National Park Service was created by an act signed by President Woodrow Wilson on August 25, 1916. However, it was Yellowstone National Park established by an Act signed by President Ulysses S. Grant on March 1, 1872, that created the nation’s first national park. – from the National Park Service website.

There are parks all across the USA that are in the care of Park Rangers. There are 18 in the sate of Maryland where I spend most of my time. There are Civil War sites, ocean front parks, national heritage sites, and trails of historical significance and just incredibly scenic. I haven’t even been to half of them! But I have been to a few that get forgotten when discovering some of the other sites in and near Maryland’s boarder states.

I love the Park Service. I know there are those out there that find them an arch nemesis when wanting to snow-mobile in the parks where they are trying so hard to cut down on noise pollution. And there are those that think there shouldn’t be areas and lands owned by the government and protected for future generations. I don’t happen to agree. I think it it is vital that there be places that are open to the public and that are bits of land untouched where humanity can go and get away from itself. I dare say I won’t make it to most in my lifetime, but I’ve enjoyed and appreciated the ones I have been to over the years. And I look forward to exploring more and sharing about our adventures here with you who read this thing.

So, on with the adventures in the parks….

 

 

